InterCon’s Interuption

It was a hectic afternoon, a couple months ago, when someone from InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza called me and invited me to stay at the hotel to experience their new guest rooms. It didn’t take long for me to agree. Just brief information for you, the hotel has just launched 30 new guest rooms to round up its 366 well-appointed rooms in this five-star hotel.

Later, they arranged a one-night-stay at the hotel’s new guest room for me and I guess, if I’m not mistaken, it was scheduled on Friday. They suggested me to check in early the afternoon but apparently I still had tons of work to do and I was on deadline, thus I managed to check in a bit late, around 7PM.

After checking in, I dropped my luggage at my room and headed to Pacific Place to meet some friends there. I officially get back to the hotel around 11PM. My first recognition when I entered the room was how big the bed is. Apparently this one is the new type of bed uses by the hotel and is called Hollywood Twin Bed. It’s sporting an enormous size of 240cm x 200cm which means 40cm wider compared to the original King Bed size. Roll around on the bed as you like, however, if you’re staying alone lonely feeling is unavoidable.

Like any other guest rooms in this hotel, the new ones are completed with a 32inch plasma TV, a lazy chair, work station, state-of-the-art bathroom (though I’m not a big fan of bathtub-cum-shower), tea/coffee making facility, fridge with minibar and a deposit box in each room.  The new guest rooms are located on the third floor which used to be the floor for meetings and events. InterContinental’s new babies are totally designed for business travelers and available in three types: Deluxe, Premier and Studio Suites with room sizes ranging from 37sqm to 68sqm.

Leave a comment